TWO DAYS IN CARACAS: A Chapter Comment

Posted: November 6, 2015 in Chapter Comments, Two Days in Caracas
Tags:

Chapter 16

I began writing Titus Ray Thrillers when I heard about the persecution of Iranian Christians in Tehran. My first book, ONE NIGHT IN TEHRAN, describes how Titus Ray, the main protagonist, was brought to faith in Christ after living with some Iranian Christians for three months following a botched operation in Tehran.

Once he returns to the States, while being pursued by an assassin, he tries to figure out what it means to be a follower of Christ. As difficult as it is, since he has no spiritual background and no one to mentor him, he gradually begins to grow in his faith. While he gets excited about his new relationship with the Lord, he’s not sure how to integrate the teachings of Christ into his career, and if he can even do so.

In the second book, TWO DAYS IN CARACAS, he has an opportunity to share his faith with his sister, Carla, when he returns to Flint, Michigan to bury his mother. Chapter 16 describes his attempts to witness to her of God’s love.

Here’s an excerpt:

“Why is this so important to you? You’ve never cared about religion before.”

“You’re right, I’ve never cared about religion before and I still don’t. But what I do care about is my relationship to Jesus Christ.”

Carla giggled. “Are you kidding me?”

“I’ve never been more serious about anything in my life.”

For the next several minutes, I attempted to share with Carla how I’d become a believer.

Since the circumstances and identities of the people who had led me to the Lord were classified, I simply told her I’d met some believers who, despite a difficult situation, were joyously happy. I also explained how committed they had been to studying the Bible and having regular times of prayer.

“That’s incredible, Titus,” Carla said, reaching out and squeezing my hand. “You sound very sincere about this.”

“I want you to know God’s love for yourself, Carla.”

She withdrew her hand. “Are you trying to convert me?”

“I’m just asking you to think about it. That’s all.”

Leave a Reply

